Let’s Talk! (Week #15 – 2/8/13)

We’re up to week 15 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

Procrastination: does it rule your life? Or are you more of the prepared/scheduled type?

Well, the fact that it is now almost 8 pm and I normally try to make this meme post before I go to work on Friday pretty much says enough about where I fall on this topic. To be fair, I suffer from selective procrastination. I don’t let things slide with my business at all – other than billing, which kind of defeats the purpose of making money at my business, but that is a whole other topic for discussion. If I have a deadline, I meet it. I actually work very well under the pressure of tight deadlines. The tighter the better.

From a personal standpoint, not so much. It’s mostly because life gets in the way. Take today for instance. I was supposed to have the day off. My boss asked me yesterday if I could come in today… of course I said yes. So my ‘laid back, get things accomplished Friday’ turned into ‘getting everyone where they needed to go and get to work myself Friday.’ Not what I was expecting, so therefore everything that I had saved to do on my ‘laid back Friday’ got pushed aside for ‘everything I absolutely had to get done’ things. I hate it when that happens.

I’m not exactly sure what this says about me except for the fact that I am kind of a ‘go with the flow’ kind of person. I get accomplished what has to be accomplished and if life happens, as it tends to do when you have three kids, I just deal. I honestly don’t procrastinate on purpose and I get a real sense of accomplishment when I get things done ahead of schedule. I know that my scheduling and prioritizing needs some improvement and I’ll get to it. Eventually 😉

So what about you? Are you a procrastinator or a scheduler or do you fall somewhere in between? Join this week’s discussion and Let’s Talk!

8 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #15 – 2/8/13)

    • Sometimes I’m lucky if I’m a day ahead. LOL! I do have a couple of posts scheduled for next month, but that’s only because they are ARCs and requested that I hold the reviews. *sigh*

  1. I am so bad. I usually end up having a list of 12+ reviews to write and end up trying to write them all in a day or two. I’m currently playing catch up right now.

    I just got a planner and am trying to create/follow a reading/review schedule so that I can be more on top of things. I have a bunch of ARCS so that helps with the scheduling.

    • I try not to get farther behind than 2 reviews. The busier I am the harder it is. I am usually really good about ARCs and review requests though. I just have to be careful how many I request. I try to stay away from NetGalley as much as possible. (You can tell by my reviews how well that’s working for me 😉 ) Thanks for stopping by!

  2. At least you know you’re a procrastinator and that’s half the battle! 😉 I love making lists and then blissfully ignoring them. I’m hoping to get over that whole ignoring it thing!

Leave a Reply

