Let’s Talk! (Week #12 – 1/18/13)

We’re up to week 12 of Let’s Talk! It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

Do you hide your book purchases from your significant other/parents/children/pet/old lady down the street? Share some good smuggling stories!

Umm… *looks around sheepishly* Who me? Hide books? Never!

Okay, I’ll come clean. *sigh* The only person that I’ve ever hidden book purchases from is my daughter. It’s not because I’m ashamed. It’s just that she gives me such a hard time about it. Granted, it’s in a very loving way, but she’s the one who is constantly telling me that I have a serious problem. So, when I come home from a shopping trip where I’ve picked up yet another book on sale, I sneak it out of the bags and hide it amongst my other piles of books. Silly, I know, but it saves me that ‘look’ she always gives me.

To be honest, I think I’m more embarrassed at the post office. 😉 I don’t go overboard, but I know that on average I receive more books from Amazon than any of their other customers in this small town. 😉

So how about you? Do you hide your purchases from anyone? Let’s Talk!

6 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #12 – 1/18/13)

    • Yeah, I know them all and when I walk in the door I don’t even have to tell them my box number, they just walk to the shelf and grab my books. I almost feel like I should explain, but I know they’d never understand. *sigh* ‘My name is Shirley and I am a book addict.’ At least I know I’m in good company 😉

  1. Funny. My kid kind of gives me a here she goes again look that is mixed with what did she get that I can read look.

    I get a look when I ship books. Yep, media mail!!! LOVE how much cheaper it is than standard shipping. Makes me do the happy dance.

    • Yeah, my daughter is the same way, although I find myself raiding her shelves more often than I raid hers.
      And yes, I LOVE Media Mail. It comes in so handy. 😉 My Black Dagger Brotherhood books have been to Ohio and back thanks to Media Mail. Makes it so much more pocket book friendly to share the book love ❤

Leave a Reply

