Bout-of-Books 6.0 Goals (1/7/13-1/13/13)

BoB6.0-300x200Wow, way back in August I thought the wait for January would take for ever. That was a fast 5 months! We’ve all been waiting patiently for the next Bout-of-Books and the time has finally come! Now to pick some books that I know will keep me reading. You know I like to stack the deck, right? My previous Bout-of-Books goal lists have pretty much proven that and Bout-of-Books 6.0 is no exception.

I can’t believe that 5 months have passed and I still have books from Bout-of-Books 5.0 left unread. They’re back (most of them anyway) and this time I’m determined to cross them off first. No exceptions!

As usual, my list is eclectic, just like my taste. The list also includes some books that I have on my Seriously Series 2013 list. I believe in multi-tasking πŸ˜‰ So what books made it to my Bout-of-Books 6.0 list?

  1. The Haunting Season by Michelle Muto (260 Pages)
  2. Weaving Destiny (Soulkeepers #2) by G.P. Ching (221 Pages)
  3. My Soul to Save (Soul Screamers #2) by Rachel Vincent (285 Pages)
  4. Death’s Angel (Lost Angels #3) by Heather Killough-Walden (368 Pages)
  5. No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark #3) by Kresley Cole (384 Pages)
  6. Lord of Misrule (The Morganville Vampires #5) by Rachel Caine (260 Pages)
  7. Where She Went (If I Stay #2) by Gayle Forman (274 Pages)
  8. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey (404 Pages)
  9. A Peyton Family Christmas by Moira Rogers (26 Pages)
  10. Dangerous Secrets (Tall, Dark and Deadly #2) by Lisa Renee Jones (200 Pages)

Some of these books I seriously can’t wait to start. They are all books that I own and some of them have been gathering way too much dust and filling me with some serious book neglect guilt. *sigh* While others are brand new and I have been anxiously awaiting.

As for my actual goal? Well, last time I failed miserably, but that’s OK. My goal was 7 and I actually only read 5. This time I’m going to set a realistic goal of 6. I’ve reached that number once before and I really think I can do it again. *fingers crossed* If you’re observant, you will also notice that I have more than 6 books listed. That’s all part of stacking the deck. This may also be a good time to mention that this list isn’t written in stone. I’ve been known to pick up a stray book here and there. That’s the great part about Bout-of-Books though. Pretty much anything goes. πŸ˜‰ If I do change my mind about what I’m going to read I’ll be sure to update the above list though. No worries.

As always, I will attempt to post my reviews as the books are read. So far, I’ve been able to keep this part of the deal I’ve made with myself. (I’ve found out the hard way, if I don’t post or at least write the reviews as I finish a book I tend to put it off.) All of those reviews will be posted here and on GoodReads and my list of books is there as well.

So, are you joining in on the Bout-of-Books 6.0 fun? If so, what are your goals? As usual, this is a no pressure, all fun read-a-thon. The only person you are competing with is yourself. All the details are at the Bout-of-Books website along with a list of giveaways and challenges that will take place throughout the week. Come join in on the fun! You were gonna read that week anyway, right?

And just in case you missed it, here’s the official Bout-of-Books Blurb:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books 6.0 team

By creativedeeds

56 comments on “Bout-of-Books 6.0 Goals (1/7/13-1/13/13)

    • If you like YA Paranormal you will LOVE Soul Screamers. It is an amazing series and I could kick myself for not starting it sooner and then letting it sit as long as I have. The Soulkeepers and Morganville Vampires series are also YA Paranormal and great. I think that the first book in the Soulkeepers series is free right now. Good luck with your goals and have fun!

  1. Soul Screamers! Love that series, I hope you do get to that second book! I’m participating too, just working out what my goals will be, I got Joe to join with me as well so it should be interesting!
    6 does sound like a reasonable goal, I’m going by page count this time, but I know I’ll be busy with work too so we will see how much I can do!
    Good luck, I’m really excited for this one!

    • I love Soul Screamers too… have no idea why I still haven’t read My Soul to save but I will fix that this time. Honest! I do a page count too, but I still like to count the books. Good luck and have fun!

  2. 6 is a great goal!! I have only participated once before but I’m super excited for this years BoB πŸ™‚ I haven’t read If I Stay yet but I heard it was amazing and plan to read it soon so I’m sure the second book will be on a list in the near future, lol.

    • I’ve been with Bout-of-Books from the beginning and I try to help out whenever I can. I can’t believe how much it’s grown and I love how many bloggers I’ve gotten to know. It’s so much fun!

  3. Interesting choices. I believe you can read all of them next week! Goodluck!

    By the way, totally unrelated to Bout of Books, wanna let you know I’m kind of hooked to H.P. Mallory’s Jolie Wilkins series after reading your reviews. Yay!

    • We shall see. Not sure I can read them all, but at least I know I have a lot to choose from.
      Glad you’re enjoying the Jolie Wilkins series. I’ve got to get back to her Dulcie O’Neil series now. That’s another fun one, but I have to admit I like Jolie’s series better. πŸ˜‰

  4. I love the list you made and hope you reach your goals this year. I have the same problems with reviews so I write all of them right after I finish a book. Good luck in the read-a-thon πŸ™‚

    • I was in a 5 book slump for the first 3 Bout-of-Books. I finally hit 6 books for Bout-of-Books 4 then for Bout-of-Books 5 I slid back to 5 books. Oh well, I still had fun πŸ˜‰ Gotta keep the goal over 5 though, just out of principle.

  5. Great picks! I’m reading the first book in the Soul Screamers series during the BoB (I was stupid enough to photograph the second book in the series though), heard a lot of good things about the books. You’re completely right, those five months just flew by! I’m glad it’s Bout of Books time again, so I can get a good start of the year. Best of luck with reaching your goal, hope you can read all those books that have been gathering dust since #5 ^^

    My Bout of Books Goals

    • That’s the goal Celine. They will be crossed off the list right after I read The Haunting Season. I love Michelle Muto’s books and told her I would read it first. Weaving Destiny and My Soul to Save will be right after that. Good luck, have fun and I can’t wait to see how you like Soul Screamers. πŸ˜‰

  6. I don’t know all the books you’ve selected but you do have some good ones in there πŸ˜€ Hope you reach your goal!

    I’m gonna finally participate this time. Exciting stuff πŸ˜€

    • Yay Isa! So glad you’re joining the fun this time. My list is an eclectic mess, as usual. πŸ˜‰ A lot of mine are from indie authors and some were gifts. Some are to help me get started on my Seriously Series Challenge list – which is LONG.

      Speaking of exciting stuff – make sure you enter the Giveaway when it goes live πŸ˜‰

  7. Where She Went is amazing! πŸ˜€ I need to get started with the Soul Screamers series, I have the first two books, I just need the time to read them. Good luck with your goal, six is a great number to go for! (I can’t seem to get past three!)

    • I loved If I Stay (which I read for Bout-of-Books 5.0) and several people have told me that Where She Went is even better. I can’t wait to read it. I have Volume 1 & 2 of Screamers which includes books 0.5-4. I could kick myself for not continuing to read that series after I read the prequel and book 1. So many books, so little time. *sigh*
      We’ll see if I can make it to 6. 5 seems to be my ‘lucky’ number. Oh well, regardless I plan to have fun trying. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Mandi. My Soul to Save is a leftover from Bout-of-Books 5. *hangs head in shame* I’ve got one review book on the list that I’m reading first, after that I’m committed to reading those left over books. πŸ˜‰

    • Whatever works. πŸ˜‰ That’s the great thing about Bout-of-Books. It doesn’t matter what you read, how many books you read or how you read them. The best goal is having fun! πŸ˜‰

  8. I’ve heard great things about some of the books on your list, though I must admit that I have not actually read any of them.

    I did read the first Immortals After Dark novel, A Hunger Like No Other, and want to continue with that series. If I remember right, the one you’ve listed is one of my friends’ favorites. As for the Soul Screamers books, there’s another series I need to check out one of these days. (I say that a lot. So we’ll see.)

    Last, I’ve heard absolutely amazing things about Gail Forman’s writing, and I hope that Where She Went is totally fabulous. πŸ™‚

    Have a great week. Happy reading!

    • Don’t worry, I say that a lot too. πŸ˜‰ So many books, way too little time. *sigh* No Rest for the Wicked is the 3rd book in the Immortals After Dark Series. There is a novella that comes before A Hunger Like No Other that is actually #1. I just read it this weekend. It’s really good too.
      Souls Screamers is great and If I Stay was amazing. See, now I’ve given you a whole lot of reasons to pick them all up πŸ˜‰

    • You might as well. I started reading a Demonica book yesterday and thought I could put it down until Bout-of-Books was over. I don’t think that’s gonna happen, so now I might be adding it to my page count. *sigh*

  9. Ohhh, The Snow Child! Definitely one of my favourite books of 2012, and such a lovely winter read! I have NO IDEA how many books I’ll finish, but I definitely want to reread Jane Eyre and Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. After that I’ll just hit the shelves and see what I fancy. For the first time ever I’m actually off for most of the week, so I can’t wait to get some seriously laid-back book (and snacking) time in! Happy reading… πŸ˜€

    • I had heard nothing about The Snow Child, so I’m glad to know someone loved it. One of my friends gave it to me for Christmas and she wants to read it when I’m done. (Maybe there was an ulterior motive there somewhere….hmmm.) I have to work every day but Friday but I’m gonna try to sneak some reading in whenever I can. Besides, who needs sleep? πŸ˜‰ Good luck and have fun!

  10. I like how you really set yourself up for success, learning from what did/didn’t work last time round. I hope you meet your goals and love the books you are reading – I personally have enjoyed the Morgainville Vampire series!

  11. Pingback: #BoutofBooks 6.0 Goals and Updates « Reading 'En Vogue'

Leave a Reply

