Let’s Talk! (Week #9 – 12/28/12)

We’re up to week 9 of Let’s Talk and I’m still loving the topics so far. It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

What are your New Year Resolutions? Or, what goals have you set for yourself in 2013.

Well, I really didn’t think about New Year Resolutions until I read this question. Now I can’t stop thinking about it. Hmmm….

Getting Fit! I’ve been thinking about this one forever and I really need to do something about it. I’ve been over weight most of my life and it’s not that I avoid exercise, I just don’t do it. *sigh* My daughter has been begging me to get a Y membership for the family and I think this is the year that I will do it.

Building My Business: I really, really need to do this. I need to start promoting more and interacting with others through Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn so people out there know I actually exist. The tools are there, I just don’t use them enough.

MyChairGet Organized! Of course along with building my business, I also have to become more organized. I’m great at organization with the office at work, it’s just my personal organization that’s a mess. I have an office in my house that is nothing more than a place for everyone to put things that they are trying to ignore. One of my first priorities is going to be putting it back together so it’s functional and I have a place to really work. This may take a while, but my daughter reupholstered an office chair for me so I have to get it in there. Great incentive, right?

Keep Family First! This shouldn’t have to be added to anyone’s list, but life happens and priorities sometimes get a little screwy. Our family has suffered a fair amount of loss this past year and it has made us all realize how fragile the family dynamic can be. So, when I have to make a choice between work, play and whatever else may come up against family, I hope I have the good sense this coming year to choose spending quality time with my family every time.

As far as blogging and reading go, they don’t even have to be added to the list. They are a given and an integral part of who I am now.

So, how about you? What New Year Resolutions do you want to make? Let’s Talk!

6 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #9 – 12/28/12)

  1. A Y memebership is such a good idea! I like my gym, but the Y offers way more stuff.

    That chair is gorgeous – definitely a good reason to clean out the office and focus on your business!
    Good luck this year!

    • Thanks Sarah 🙂 We live in a very rural area and the closest gym is probably an hour or so away. I can only really do low impact exercises and swimming has always been my favorite way to get a workout. She probably has me talked into it.

      Isn’t the chair great? My middle daughter works for an ambulance company in the personnel department and they were getting ready to throw a whole bunch of old office chairs out. She and her boyfriend took the whole thing apart and spray painted the black white and covered the black upholstery with this bright flower print. I was seriously excited when I saw it. It deserves an awesome office space ❤

  2. I’m really excited for your fitness goals. I have also been overweight my whole life, but I decided to get fit this year and have lost over 90 pounds. If I can do it, you can do it too, I PROMISE! Good luck with everything! 🙂 What kind of business do you have?

    • Congrats Steph! That’s amazing. I really need to stick to my goal.
      Thanks for the encouragement. 😉

      I’m a graphic designer. My day job is with a billboard company and online antique mall owner. Strange combination but it works for them. I worked for a small print shop for 10 years until almost 5 years ago. Then I stated my own business, which is currently only a side job but I’d like to make it more than that. Self promotion isn’t my strong point though so I haven’t been pushing it as much as I should. Hopefully I can change that this year though.

Leave a Reply

