Tangled Threads (Elemental Assassin #4) by Jennifer Estep

TangledThreadsI’d rather face a dozen lethal assassins any night than deal with something as tricky, convoluted, and fragile as my feelings.

But here I am. Gin Blanco, the semi-retired assassin known as the Spider. Hovering outside sexy businessman Owen Grayson’s front door like a nervous teenage girl. One thing I like about Owen: he doesn’t shy away from my past—or my present. And right now I have a bull’s-eye on my forehead.

Cold-blooded Fire elemental Mab Monroe has hired one of the smartest assassins in the business to trap me. Elektra LaFleur is skilled and efficient, with deadly electrical elemental magic as potent as my own Ice and Stone powers. Which means there’s a fifty-fifty chance one of us won’t survive this battle. I intend to kill LaFleur—or die trying—because Mab wants the assassin to take out my baby sister, Detective Bria Coolidge, too.

The only problem is, Bria has no idea I’m her long-lost sibling . . . or that I’m the murderer she’s been chasing through Ashland for weeks. And what Bria doesn’t know just might get us both dead.

So far I think that Tangled Threads is my favorite in the Elemental Assassin series. Gin is just as committed as ever to her friends and family, the danger is just as intense and the stakes are growing higher. Mainly because Gin’s circle of people that she has grown to care about and feels the need to protect is growing.

Once again, the supporting players in this installment played just as big a part as Gin herself. This is definitely not just an action driven series, it’s character driven as well. The more I get to know the supporting crew, the more I like them. Sophie and Jo-jo were Gin’s strong supporters. Jo-Jo with her sage advice and encouragement and Sophie with her silent strength. Finn was his lovingly sarcastic self and he proved he was much more than a pretty face who could crunch numbers and gather intel. He saw some real action in Tangled Threads and it made me like and respect him even more. I loved getting to know Bria better too. Hopefully that relationship will grow stronger as well.

Then there was Owen…. *sigh* I really love this guy. He’s breaking through Gin’s tough walls and at times it’s both beautiful and heartbreaking. I’m one of those readers who never doubted Owen’s motives. He always seemed genuine to me and he proved it over and over again in Tangled Threads. The romance was sweet and intense and their connection is just getting stronger. My only fear is that something tragic is going to happen. I hate those feelings.

Of course the bad guys were in full force. Mab was just as nasty and ruthless as ever and we saw more of her this time. Then there was the new assassin. Elektra was an amazing adversary for Gin. That combined with the twists, turns and surprising threads that connected the two made their final encounter even more intense.

Speaking of twists and turns, both readers and characters were in for a few in Tangled Threads. Some I never saw coming. There were some tense moments for me while I was reading the final chapters. I honestly thought I was going to end up hating a character I had grown to really love and respect. Whew!

Spider’s Revenge is up next and hopefully I’ll continue to stay on track so I can take part in the Elemental Assassin Series Read-A-Long discussion because it is really way too much fun to miss. 😉

Tangled Threads is the fourth book in Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series. I picked it up so I could take part in the Elemental Assassin Series Read-A-Long sponsored by Ashley at Smash Attack Reads and Brianna at The Book Vixen. Each month either Ashley or Brianna will share discussion questions about the current book featured in the Read-A-Long. Follow the link if you want to join in on the fun!

Leave a Reply

