Let’s Talk! (Week #8 – 12/21/12)

We’re up to week 8 of Let’s Talk and I’m still loving the topics so far. It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

Please share your favorite Holiday recipe. And if you don’t have one or cook, then go find one that sounds YUM-O! Feel free to include pictures.

So, what foods just say Christmas to me? My list isn’t short, so be patient. Some of them are mine and some of them belong to others, but all of them hold a special place in my personal holiday memories. I didn’t have pics of all the finished goodies, but you can click on any of the pics below and follow the links to recipes on the pages I pulled the pictures from.

DateBarsThe first one I’m going to share is a standard from my Mom (actually my aunt, but she raised me so she’s more than earned the title.) As long as I can remember I looked forward to the time that she would make her Date Bars. I know, not your standard Christmas fare, but I now have to share them with my daughters. And by share I mean sometimes fight over the last one. It’s gotten to the point where Grandma has wised up and made separate containers for all of us. We’re so spoiled. 😉

PumpkinRollBetween Thanksgiving and Christmas I’m known for my Pumpkin Rolls. I’m in big trouble so far this year because I have yet to make even one. Not that I haven’t been baking, because I have, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m not sure how it got started, but I don’t regret it. They’re fun to make and I like being known for something. Since I didn’t get around to making any for Thanksgiving I guess I better start rounding up the ingredients to make some before Christmas.

PuppyChowMy kids got in on the ‘gifting food’ idea right along with me. I love it when that happens. They love to make Chex® Muddy Buddy Mix. Of course, somewhere along the road they started calling it Puppy Chow. I found a couple of sites that do call it that, but I have no idea where my kids picked it up. The important thing is that there are people that eagerly expect this simple treat from my kids every year. I love it when traditions just sort of happen.

So, what are your favorite Christmas or seasonal recipes? Are there any that warm your heart as well as your tummy? We all could use some new and different ideas. Thanks for sharing and Enjoy!

 

2 comments on “Let’s Talk! (Week #8 – 12/21/12)

Leave a Reply

