Lethal Rider (Lords of Deliverance #3) by Larrissa Ione

Thanatos, the most deadly Horseman of the Apocalypse, has endured thousands of years of celibacy to prevent the end of days. But just one night with the wickedly sexy Aegis Guardian, Regan Cooper, shatters centuries of resolve. Yet their passion comes with a price. And Thanatos must face a truth more terrifying than an apocalypse-he’s about to become a father.

Demon-slayer Regan Cooper never imagined herself the maternal type, but with the fate of the world hanging in the balance she had no choice but to seduce Thanatos and bear his child. Now, as the final battle draws closer and his rage at being betrayed is overshadowed by an undeniable passion for the mother of his child, Thanatos has a life-shattering realization: To save the world, he must sacrifice the only thing he’s ever wanted-a family.

Just a warning… you may not want to read this review if you haven’t read any other books in the Lords of Deliverance series. I don’t believe in spoilers, but there will be references to the previous books. I won’t give away anything from Lethal Rider though, promise. So if you’ve read Eternal Rider and Immortal Rider, you’re safe.

I have to admit, I was wondering exactly how Larissa Ione was going to endear Regan to readers. She didn’t exactly make a great first impression in when she was introduced Immortal Rider. Readers could tell that she regretted her decision to take advantage of Than. Once she got to know him she realized that he wasn’t the monster that she had once thought him to be, but she still didn’t take the time to get to know the real Horseman. She was a character that I really didn’t like. I knew that Larissa Ione would find a way to change my attitude toward her, but what I didn’t expect was that I would find myself sympathizing with her as much as I did with Than (well, almost.) Sneaky, sneaky authors! 😉

Than spent his centuries of existence celibate. Not by choice but out of necessity. Regan not only tricked him into having sex with her but did it so she could have his child. That one act made this relationship doomed from the start. At the end of Immortal Rider, Limos and Ares had to trap Than and keep him immobile so he wouldn’t destroy everything and everyone around him.  Regan had left and was hidden away by the Aegis so Than and the rest of the Horsemen couldn’t find her and her unborn son. In theory, there should be no possible way that these two could end up in a HEA situation. The possibility that our beloved characters will overcome impossible odds is exactly why we read these books though isn’t it? Umm… that and the smexy moments that occur in the process.

By the time I had finished Immortal Rider, I was a true Than/Regan fan. Both characters provided quite a few heart wrenching moments and the love that grew between them was totally believable. Who knew? Well, actually I probably should have. Larissa Ione has yet to disappoint me with any of the books in either series. Yep, I’m hooked.

I started reading this series before I read the Demonica Series. If I’ve caught you in time, you may want to start with that series first. They can obviously be read separately, but the characters appear in both and most of the demons and members of the Aegis are introduced the Demonica Series first, along with some of the mythology and world building that lay the ground work for both series. I’ve only read the first book in the Demonica Series, and I had every intention of reading all of them before I continued the Lords of Deliverance Series. That changed when I found out that Rogue Rider was going to be released soon. I knew then that I couldn’t put off finding out exactly how things turn out for Reseph. Stay tuned, because it’s on my Kindle right now, ready and waiting. 😉

One comment on “Lethal Rider (Lords of Deliverance #3) by Larrissa Ione

  1. Pingback: Review: Lethal Rider « Switzy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

