Let’s Talk! (Week #3 – 11/16/12)

I have to say that I am honestly enjoying this weekly meme. It’s sparked some very interesting and lively conversations and given us all something to think about. That’s always a good thing. Here’s what Smash and Kt have to tell us about the weekly meme.

Originally hosted by Melissa from i swim for oceans, Smash & Kt took her original inspiration, and made it their own, expanding it to more than just books. Let’s get personal (but respectfully so) and learn more about one another!  Each week, a different question will be posted along with a place to link up your posts and visit other people’s responses. This meme is definitely meant to bring out conversation and meet new people. So, Let’s Talk!

And here’s Today’s Question:

What are your thoughts on series? How many books in a series is too many? What authors do you think handle longer series well, as opposed to ones who seem to stretch it out less successfully?

Well, this is embarrassing. Since I came up with this week’s question, you would think that I would have something amazing and earth shattering to contribute. Hmm… I think that the problem here is that my discussion will be kinda one-sided. That might be because I have several series that I love and I am completely and totally emotionally invested in. That being said, there are a few that I can pretty much take or leave. I don’t really care one way or the other what happens next or to who. I’ll continue reading them, just because I feel obligated, but I will be waiting until they come out in paperback or I can borrow them from someone. The hardcover will probably never grace my shelf. Guess that pretty much says it all then, huh? Who knew? I really do have an opinion and didn’t even know it.

So, what are the series that I can’t say no to? What authors do I think handle the ‘never ending story’ with grace? What are the series books that I am waiting on pins and needles for just like everyone else and yes, I will be purchasing the hardcover to complete my set with? I’m sure that there won’t be any surprises here, but I just gotta share. They aren’t in any particular order – honest.

  • The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward – Bet you never saw this one coming? I admit it, I just can’t get enough of those BDB boys and their women. I think what keeps this series fresh, for me at least, is that even though each book is centered around ‘the’ couple, you still get a glimpse and sometimes more, of the other characters that we’ve grown to love. All of their personalities are so strong and unique. The Warden can just keep them coming as far as I’m concerned. *sigh*
  • The Night Huntress, Night Huntress World & A Night Prince by Jeaniene Frost – Okay, I’m totally aware that I’m naming more than one series here and I also know that there are some readers who are totally against spin-offs that are so tightly bound to an original series, but in my humble opinion (and yes, that’s all it is) Frost has made it work. I absolutely love Cat and Bones. They are one of my favorite paranormal couples. The supporting characters in this series are just as amazing. Even though Frost has a set number of books in store for her beloved Cat and Bones, she has found a unique way to continue the saga. I really like the in depth glimpses that she has given us of the supporting characters. I’m also not complaining about the fact that Vlad earned his own series. I still don’t think that any of them will ever measure up to Cat and Bones, but I like the way that Frost is giving readers even more than they bargained for and handling all the stories well in the process.
  • The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare – Yeah, it’s not quite as long as the other series, and it does have a definite ending point, yet it still has gone on longer than even Cassandra expected. Why continue a series when it has come to a satisfactory end? Basically because, even though readers would have never realized it and would have complained but eventually accepted it, these characters had more story to tell. I like the way Clare has connected her two series subtly, yet with too much there to ignore. Even though my favorite of the two Shadow Hunters’ series is and probably always will be The Infernal Devices, I still love and respect the continuation of The Mortal Instruments. Sure, this series really could have ended with City of Glass and readers would have been none the wiser, but I am so glad that we have been treated to the rest of the Shadow Hunter saga. Time will only tell if she can keep the pace with The Dark Artifices, but I’m pretty sure she’s up to the task. 😉
  • Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter – Oh the Lords. It took me a while to find them, but I am so glad that I did. Just like the BDB, I love seeing glimpses of the previous Lords thrown into the mix with the featured couple. The Lords are just as dependent on each other as the BDB. I think it’s the sense of family that draws me into these books and makes me feel like I can’t get enough. Regardless, I think that the continuation of this series, along with the Angels of the Dark spin-off work well together and help to keep it all fresh.

What other series can’t I get enough of? Here’s a short list: The Morganville Vampires (Rachel Caine), The Elder Races (Thea Harrison), The Iron Fey (Julia Kagawa), Elemental Assassin (Jennifer Estep), Kate Daniels (Ilona Andrews) and Parasol Protectorate (Gail Carriger.) I didn’t feature some of these because I either just started reading them, they were only a couple of books into what promised to be a longer series or their continuation depends on future spin-offs that only time will tell about their longevity. I just know that I am enjoying the ride with these books so far and I can’t wait to see where the author takes me on that journey.

So, I know you’re curious about series that I’ve abandoned. Well, maybe not abandoned, but I’ve found myself not as enamored with as I was in the beginning. I can only really think of a couple right off the top of my head. Honestly, I don’t think it would be fair to single them out. Especially since it’s not that I don’t like the books or that I don’t want to know what happens next. It’s mainly because the books that I mentioned above have, in my opinion, done an exceptional job of ‘keeping the story going.’ And for that reason, they deserve to be spot-lighted, just a little.

I’m sure I’ve missed some and I know that when this discussion starts I will be right in the middle of it while being reminded of why I fell in love with the mentioned series to begin with. That’s half the fun of all this sharing, right? So, please, feel free to let us know why you fell in love with a series and would continue reading about the author’s beloved characters regardless of how many volumes of books it covers.

