Cursed! by J.R. Rain and Scott Nicholson

Albert Shipway is an ordinary guy, an insurance negotiator who likes booze and women and never having to say he’s sorry.

And he thinks this is just another day, another lunch, another order of kung pao chicken. Little does he know that he’s about to meet a little old lady who knows his greatest fear. A little old lady who knows what’s hiding in his heart. A little old lady who dishes up a big stew of supernatural revenge, with ingredients as follows: First you take one psychotic ex from a family of serial killers. Next add a pinch or two of an irrational childhood fear. Now thoroughly mix in an angry sister, a life-stealing great-granddad, and a notorious mass murderer—who happens to be dead but doesn’t know it. Let it stew and froth and bubble thoroughly….

In just a matter of minutes, Albert’s life turns upside down and he enters a world where magic and evil lurk beneath the fabric of Southern California. And all his choices have brewed a perfect storm of broken hearts, broken promises, shattered families, and a couple of tiny problems. Namely, killer mice and a baby.

Albert Shipway is finally getting a chance to right some wrongs.

That is, if it’s not too late.

Okay, after reading that synopsis and checking out the cover how could you not at least take a peek at Cursed? It may sound weird, but this paranormal murder mystery was a fun read. Who knew?

Albert isn’t your typical male hero. He’s an alcoholic, adulterer, underachieving coward. But hey, what’s not to love? He finds out within a 24 hour period that the love of his life has been murdered, his hopefully soon to be ex-wife is crazier than even he suspected, he’s been cursed by a witch and he’s a father. Needless to say this book doesn’t slow down until the final page is turned. Also, I’m not sure if I have Scott Nicholson or J.R. Rain to thank for my floor crawling nightmares, but regardless, thank you. Thank you very much! o.O

Cursed was one of those books that had a little bit of everything. It only had a hint of romance, but that’s Okay. It had more than enough humor, mystery, action, suspense and danger (and yes, there was a gross factor too *shivers*) to keep me interested.

Although this is the first book I’ve read by Scott Nicholson, I’ve several of J.R. Rain’s books, which brings me to my guilt factor confession. Looking back, I realized that this is the first of his books that I have reviewed. I guess that means it’s time for some more ‘Deja Vu’ reviews. It’s been a while – guess I’ll just have to force myself to re-read Moon Dance (Vampire for Hire #1), Vampire Moon (Vampire for Hire #2) and Dark Horse (Jim Knight Horse #1). *sigh* The sacrifices I make in the attempt to be a conscientious reader and reviewer. 😉 Stay tuned!

I read Cursed as the first book in the Dark Spells 4-Book set. I’ll be picking these up one at a time. I’ve also downloaded a couple of them separately, so you’ll have to bare with me. I’ll try not to confuse you too much. 😉

I received Cursed as part of the 4-Book set of Dark Spells from Amazon on September 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

