Bout-of-Books 4.0 Grand Prize Winner Bookmark Design


You might remember that

Beckie @ Becca’s Book Bug

won the Grand Prize in the Bout-of-Books 4.0 Giveaway. I showed off some of her design a few weeks ago while we were patiently waiting for her bookmarks to arrive. Below are the other designs that she got along with her bookmarks. We had to make sure everything matched, right? Below are her new twitter avi/blog button, blog header and review ladybug ~ just in case you missed them the first time we shared them.

Getting the bookmarks took a little bit longer than normal because Beckie was a true International winner 😉 We just had to jump through a couple more hoops to get the bookmarks to her, but I think she thought it was worth the wait. In case you hadn’t noticed, she is just a tad bit excited about winning.

So, what did we come up with for a final design? Here you go…

Working with Beckie was so much fun. She pretty much knew what she wanted and I gave her a couple of choices and then fine-tuned it all. Just in case any of you are wondering, the total value of Beckie’s prize amounted to a little over $100. That total includes the 250 bookmarks, the completed designs and shipping costs. The original grand prize was for bookmarks only, but since Beckie opted for a smaller amount of bookmarks than we offered and because her blog was fairly new and I was essentially creating a logo for her with the bookmarks, she received a few extra perks. I don’t think she’s complaining. 😉

Beckie’s not the only one that has gotten fresh new swag and designs since Bout-of-Books. Stay tuned, because I’ll be sharing some more designs in the next couple of days.

By creativedeeds

Teaser Tuesday 7-2-12

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

It has been FOREVER since I have done a Teaser Tuesday Post. I’d say it’s about time I get back on track, don’t you? My current read gave me the perfect opportunity. Every once in a while I run across a book that I can’t help but share quotes from. I started reading the first book in Gena Showalter’s Angels of the Dark Series, Wicked Nights on Sunday. The thing that struck me first about this books is that it has so many LOL moments that I couldn’t wait to start picking through them to share. Once again, I can’t stick to the 2 sentence rule. 😉 The chemistry and banter that happens between Annabelle and Zacharel is just adorable. Here’s just one sample. Enjoy!

Wicked Nights by Gena Showalter (page 61)

“Look, Winged Wonder. Get me out of here, then we’ll hammer out the details about where I’m staying, Okay?”

“Winged Wonder,” he said nodding. “I find that I do not mind that one. It fits.”

“Captain Modesty fits better,” she muttered.

“I disagree. Winged Wonder is clearly the better choice for a man such as me….”

Not to be outdone, the other angels in Zacharel’s rag-tag army are fairly witty themselves. Don’t misunderstand, this book has some intense, dark and heartbreaking moments too, but the banter between the characters in this book helps break it up.

In this scene, early in the book, Zacharel is waiting for one of his warriors to bring him a demon to interrogate….

Wicked Nights by Gena Showater (pages 34-35)

“The feral demon, as requested, Magnificent King,” a familiar voice said from beside him. “Quickly.” 

A huge beast thumped lifelessly at Zacharel’s feet….

Slight problem. The demon had no head.

“This demon is deceased,” he said.

Only the barest of pauses before Bjorn responded. “Thane relayed your order verbatim. In this, you were not wise enough to specify a preference.” 

“True.” He absolutely should have known better.

I’ll be posting my review sometime this week I’m sure. Can you tell I’m liking it so far? 🙂

By creativedeeds