The Darkest Secret by Gena Showalter

In this sexy new installment of Showalter’s bestselling Lords of the Underworld series, the haunted Amun meets a woman who tempts him like no other…

Keeper of the demon of Secrets, Amun can manipulate the darkest thoughts of anyone nearby. But when the immortal warrior is chained and isolated to protect those he loves, death is his only hope of release—until he meets Haidee, a fellow prisoner whose beauty and hidden vulnerability draw him into a reckless test of his loyalty.

Haidee is a demon-assassin, raised to despise Amun’s kind. Yet how can she hate the man whose touch sets her aflame? But to save him, she must give herself body and soul…and face the wrath of a powerful adversary sworn to destroy her.

When I was in high school, way back when they had courses that didn’t just prepare students for standardized tests, I had an abundance of English and Literature classes to choose from. Even back then I was drawn to books in an almost obsessive way. Nothing compared to what I read now, but my love of reading definitely had it’s beginning then. I literally took every English and Literature class that our small high school offered. Besides Creative Writing, one of my absolute favorites was Mythology. For that reason alone, I shouldn’t be surprised at how drawn I am to this series of books. Because Gena Showalter has made them so much more than that, I didn’t stand a chance. *sigh*

The Darkest Secret is Amun’s story. His character has been rather mysterious since the beginning, basically because he doesn’t talk. He uses sign language to communicate because he’s afraid if he speaks all of the secrets that he keeps will spill out accidentally. The integrity behind this quiet Lord really came through in this book. He carried quite a burden with his demon that wasn’t evident until Gena took the time to help you get to know him. That’s one of the things I love about this series. Not only do you get a hot and intense love story with each one but you uncover layers of the Lords’ personalities with each book.

Amun being paired with Haidee was a brilliant turn of events. It shouldn’t have worked. How could a Hunter possibly be mated to a Lord? It wasn’t easy and it wasn’t immediate. The pair of them deceived themselves and each other throughout the entire story, but the outcome was wonderful… almost. We’ll get to that a little later in the review.

Once again, the other Lords are given plenty of face time in The Darkest Secret. I’ve read reviews from readers who find this distracting… not just in the Lords of the Underworld Series, but in other series as well. I, for one, find it really adds to the reading value. In a series that encompasses so many individuals, it helps to see aspects of their lives too. After all, part of what makes these Lords so likeable is the way their existence is so interwoven. Not to mention how they not only relate to their mates but to each other as well. Their is a bond between them that you don’t usually find between men, regardless of how close they are. To me, it is a big part of the attraction to this series. Besides that, the quality time that William, Paris and Strider during their mini vacation would have been sad to miss. These guys were hilarious! Of course, there are few scenes involving William that aren’t. ;)

As for Amun and Haidee? I liked the pairing. It eventually made sense and the flow of the relationship worked. The only draw back to this entire book was the ending. It was almost too neat and tidy. It needed a little bit more explanation, but I’m still glad it ended the way that it did. Regardless, that’s the only reason that this one received 4 instead of 5 stars from me. It still kept my interest and nothing else seemed forced. I think that Haidee will be a great addition to the other strong females in the fortress.

And who is next? Well. Strider of course. I really can’t wait to read his story. it should be fun – especially since I kinda see where his story might be going. Although, Gena Showalter is a master at delivering the unexpected. Which is just another reason why I’m so glad my favorite bullies finally got me hooked on this series. :) Honestly, all it really took was picking up the first book.

Want to see what some other people thought?

Isalys @ Book Soulmates Review

Smash Attack Ash’s Review

Christi Snow’s GoodReads Review