Demon Lover by Juliet Dark

I gasped . . . or tried to. My mouth opened, but I couldn’t draw breath. . . . His lips, pearly wet, parted and he blew into my mouth. My lungs expanded beneath his weight. When I exhaled he sucked in my breath and his weight turned from cold marble into warm living flesh.

Since accepting a teaching position at remote Fairwick College in upstate New York, Callie McFay has experienced the same disturbingly erotic dream every night: A mist enters her bedroom, then takes the shape of a virile, seductive stranger who proceeds to ravish her in the most toe-curling, wholly satisfying ways possible. Perhaps these dreams are the result of writing her bestselling book, The Sex Lives of Demon Lovers. After all, Callie’s lifelong passion is the intersection of lurid fairy tales and Gothic literature—which is why she finds herself at Fairwick’s renowned folklore department, living in a once-stately Victorian house that, at first sight, seemed to call her name.

But Callie soon realizes that her dreams are alarmingly real. She has a demon lover—an incubus—and he will seduce her, pleasure her, and eventually suck the very life from her. Then Callie makes another startling discovery: He’s not the only mythical creature in Fairwick. As the tenured witches of the college and the resident fairies in the surrounding woods prepare to cast out the incubus, Callie must accomplish something infinitely more difficult—banishing this demon lover from her heart.

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I liked the premise of this book, I liked the mystery, the mythology, the characters and the writing. What I didn’t like is that it took me a while to get there. I’m a very patient reader or I may have given up, but in the end I am so very glad that I stuck with the story because about half way through it became impossible for me to put down.

There are a lot of characters in this book – not just minor characters, but characters that you can tell are going to have some influence on where the rest of the books in the series go. You get to know quite a few of them as the story progresses and nobody is exactly who they seem to be, including Callie. That always makes for an interesting read.

Some of the story was predictable, but not totally. There were times that I thought I had something figured out, but then there was another twist that led me in a totally different direction. This book is full of magic, suspense, pretty hot scenes (since we’re talking about an incubus and the title is Demon Lover, that should come as no surprise) and action. Good and bad isn’t cut and dry in Demon Lover and that always keeps things interesting as well.

When I came to the end of Demon Lover I had to go back and make sure that this book was part of a series. I would have had a totally different opinion of the ending if it wasn’t. There was so much more that I wanted to learn about the characters and Callie is left in a position at the end where just about anything could happen. I never would have thought considered it at the beginning of the book, but I will be watching for the next installment of the Fairwick Chronicles.

Want another perspective? Here’s what some other Book Bloggers had to say about Demon Lover:

Soulswallow @ Reading the Paranormal

2 comments on “Demon Lover by Juliet Dark

    • When I first started getting stuck in this one I peeked at your review just to see what your final rating was. I figured if you gave it a high rating it was worth sticking with. When I finished the review I started looking for reviews to link to, which is when I finally read yours. I cracked up. Scary, huh… *cue Twilight Zone theme* LOL! It literally was about 50% of the way through before I got into it. Then I couldn’t put it down. I would have been really, really mad at the end if I didn’t go back and confirm there was a sequel.

Leave a Reply

