Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost

An immortal war has been brewing in the darkness . . . And now one woman has stumbled into the shadows.

Chicago private investigator Kira Graceling should have just kept on walking. But her sense of duty refused to let her ignore the moans of pain coming from inside a warehouse just before dawn. Suddenly she finds herself in a world she’s only imagined in her worst nightmares.

At the center is Mencheres, a breathtaking Master vampire who thought he’d seen it all. Then Kira appears, this fearless, beautiful . . . human who braved death to rescue him. Though he burns for her, keeping Kira in his world means risking her life. Yet sending her away is unthinkable.

But with danger closing in, Mencheres must choose either the woman he craves, or embracing the darkest magic to defeat an enemy bent on his eternal destruction.

Jeaniene Frost never ceases to surprise me. She has a real knack for giving characters that she just scratched the surface with previously so much depth that you can’t help but fall in love with them. Yes, I am talking about Mencheres.

Mencheres was never my favorite character. I’m guessing that’s because I was always seeing him through Cat’s eyes. He was someone with so much power that he intimated her and then seemed to use that power however he could to manipulate others. Yep, that’s pretty much Mencheres on the surface. Trust me, even if you aren’t a fan of this powerful vampire, you need to read this book. You will see him in a totally different light.

Kira was the perfect person to bring out the hidden aspects of Mencheres. She wasn’t part of the vampire world until she met him, so she came into his life not knowing how intimidated she should be. She grew to love him for who he truly was, not the person everyone thought he was. They both grew a lot in this story and because we learned so much about Mencheres’ back story and his own internal battles, I doubt if any reader will ever look at him the same way again.

I’m not sure who Frost will feature next, but I can’t wait to find out. Ian didn’t make an appearance in Eternal Kiss of Darkness but Vlad was there. Either one of them would make for an interesting side trip in The Night Huntress World. I love reading about Cat and Bones, but this additional series adds so much to their series. Besides that, there is always just enough of Cat and Bones thrown in that we don’t miss them too much. 😉

6 comments on “Eternal Kiss of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost

    • I agree. Plus, I honestly didn’t really like Mencheres until I read this book. I was so mad at him after the last Cat & Bones book I wasn’t sure how Frost could change my mind about him. She did though, so I guess there’s even hope for Ian. 😉

  1. EKOD is my favorite of all of Jeaniene’s books. I have loved Mencheres since his introduction in One Foot in the Grave. That said, I will always have a special place in my heart for the NH characters. I love how Jeaniene can take an over-the-top sexy vampire like Bones and still show how tender he is on the inside.

    And Vlad has the first of his two books coming out next year. Title of the first one is Once Burned. Jeaniene has dropped some tantalizing hints and it promises to be sensational.

    • I really liked it too, even though I wasn’t sure when I started. I love the way Jeaniene treats all the characters. They are so unique and their personalities and ‘voices’ are so different.
      Vlad was so funny in this one. His personality is really starting to come out. I’m glad that he is next. He’s one of my favorite side characters. I’ll have to check out the details on those. Thanks for stopping by and the additional info! 😉

Leave a Reply

