At Grave’s End by Jeaniene Frost

It should be the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield’s life. With her undead lover Bones at her side, she’s successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead. But though Cat’s worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secret from the brazen bloodsuckers, her cover’s finally been blown, placing her in terrible danger.

As if that wasn’t enough, a woman from Bones’s past is determined to bury him once and for all. Caught in the crosshairs of a vengeful vamp, yet determined to help Bones stop a lethal magic from being unleashed, Cat’s about to learn the true meaning of bad blood. And the tricks she’s learned as a special agent won’t help her. She will need to fully embrace her vampire instincts in order to save herself—and Bones—from a fate worse than the grave.

Cat and Bones just can’t get a break. But to be honest, I wouldn’t have it any other way. The danger, action and passion were nonstop in At Grave’s End and parts of it left this reader crushed, literally.

A lot of what kept the story moving was the addition of new characters. You were also shown another a side to some previous characters that gave you no choice but to look at them in a whole new way. Didn’t make you trust them any more in some cases, but at least you found reason not to totally hate them anymore. A couple of the members of Cat’s team also went through some major changes, but you’ll have to read At Grave’s End to find out more about that.

Actually, lots of things change for many of the characters, including Bones and Cat. Some things that you never see coming. I don’t want to give anything away, but Bones does acquire some new powers that really add to the funny banter between the two of them. Cat still finds reasons to be jealous, but also is strong enough to get over them. Bones’ jealousy is tested a couple of times too, which seems only fair.

There wasn’t much about this one that I didn’t like. The new characters added to the plot and weren’t just new names and faces. The changes that all the characters went through moved the story in directions it couldn’t have gone without those changes. Even Cat’s mom was full of surprises. I can even forgive Frost for the tears that she caused me to shed because without them, well, you’ll see.

I’m going to step away from Cat and Bones for a little while, but not long. I want to save the next one for the Bout-of-Books Read-a-thon because I know it will be a fast read. I also want to make sure I have the first and second Night Huntress World books on hand before I start the next Night Huntress book. Since Frost has given some of the other characters books of their own, the least I can do is read them in order. 🙂 I am a responsible reader after all.

2 comments on “At Grave’s End by Jeaniene Frost

  1. Thanks for the review. I have heard a lot about Cat and Bones and have been more and more tempted to begin the series. Actually, I am not sure I have come across a bad review at this point. Sounds like you are still very much on board with the series and awaiting the next installment. This is a good sign for me. I have hesitated because the time invested is significant when starting a series. I am fairly confident that I can invest my time now and be happy with the outcome. Thanks a lot for adding to my resolve to begin reading the series.
    Kendra

    • No pressure there! Actually, I started reading the series because of Kelly (soulswallo) and Amanda (bookbender.) All it took was one book for me to get hooked. I think it just gets better and better. I’m getting ready to start Destined for an Early Grave. Need to knock out at least one more book for Bout-of-Books. I know it should keep my interest. 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

