An Apple For Zoë by Thomas Amo

AnAppleForZoeThe City of San Francisco is locked in a grip of fear. A series of occult murders has led, Inspector Thomas James, to a crime scene similar to a murder committed 90 years ago in the once grand Aleris Hotel. A place where power barons of the early 20th Century engaged in witchcraft. And silent film stars indulged in the most wicked of sins. A place where no one questions the black smoke that rises from the hotel’s incinerators in the middle of the night.

An Apple for Zoë was not like any book that I have read for a while, but that is a good thing. I’ve been reading paranormal romance and YA novels for a while now. Not that I’m in a rut or anything, but if I was, this book definitely pulled me out of it.

Thomas Amo takes you on a wild journey filled with serial killers, mystery, intrigue mixed with a lot of supernatural and occult experiences. Once the action slows down and you think you can breath a little you’re suddenly whipped back into the action and danger with a vengeance.

You are introduced to the main character, Thomas James, as he begins his investigation of a murder. Unfortunately, it’s the first murder of many in this book. How many, I honestly lost track. I guess it depends on whether you count the current murders along with the murders of the past because they all play a major part in the plot of this book. The way that Thomas weaves all of these present, past and even future tales together keeps you on the edge of your seat.

This story isn’t for everyone I am sure and because of the violence and violent sexual references it doesn’t fall into the YA genre at all. If you like a good action filled mystery with a lot of twists and turns, you are sure to enjoy An Apple For Zoë. It is part of a series, which is evident by the ending. It isn’t exactly a cliff hanger, but you will definitely want more when you are done.

The only reason I didn’t give it a rating of 5 is because there were times that I got a little lost. I’m not blaming the writing. There is a lot going on in this book and if you become even the least little bit distracted you are sure to miss something. There are also a few places with some editing issues, but I’m picky when it comes to that, so I try not to be too critical. There’s not enough there to distract from the plot and action. By the time you get to the next bomb shell that is dropped or the next ‘run for your life’ scene happens, any editing issues are long forgotten.

When you start reading An Apple for Zoë, find a nice quiet spot with no chance of being interrupted. I wouldn’t suggest doing it at night alone though – don’t say I didn’t warn you.


2 comments on “An Apple For Zoë by Thomas Amo

  1. Interesting… I haven’t heard of this book or author. I love mysteries with an element of horror and it sounds like this is along that vein. Though I ‘m not a fan of stories that put so much in the plot line becomes cluttered, and your comments make me wonder if that is the case with this one.

    Hmmm…. I’m on the fence. *laughs*

    • I can appreciate that. I won this one and it wasn’t like any book that I had been currently reading. There is a lot going on, that’s for sure. I did like it enough to keep bugging the author about when the sequel is coming out. He’s getting kinda used to my harassment by now. LOL!

Leave a Reply

