Fatal Pursuit (Aegis #3) by Elisabeth Naughton

FatalPursuitFive years ago, Aegis Security op manager Marley Addison’s lover died in a South American raid gone horribly wrong…or so she thought. When she receives a phone call telling her that he is still very much alive and in danger, she vows to bring him home safely, even if Aegis CEO and former Navy SEAL Jake Ryder has kept her out of the field for the last few years. Then Jake shows up in Colombia to help her, leaving Marley annoyed…and more than a little distracted by her alarmingly handsome boss.
As things between Marley and Jake heat up in the wilderness, they discover their rescue mission is filled with treachery. Now the domineering Jake has to rely on Marley for survival. But can she depend on him when their mission takes a shocking and deadly turn?

CreativeDeedsReadsDisclosure1I hate to admit it, but Fatal Pursuit started out being the least favorite of all the books I’ve read so far in the Aegis series. Notice I said ‘started out’ – that means that if you feel the same way as you begin this book, just wait. I’m pretty sure your opinion will change.

So, I’m sure you’re wondering what I didn’t like in the beginning… In a nutshell, it was pretty much the way that both Jake and Marley acted. Jake was a domineering jerk most of the time. At least that’s the way Marley saw it. He didn’t recognize her ability and strength. He purposely kept her out of the field and away from danger without taking into consideration her background. In her eyes, he was pretty much a pompous ass.

The way Marley just jumped to her former lover’s rescue… no questions asked, almost made me agree with Jake. It was pretty obvious that things weren’t exactly as they seemed and as capable as Marley obviously was, it was still pretty reckless to take on the mission by herself. Honestly, before I was halfway through Fatal Pursuit I was ready to shake them both.

By the end of the book I was more frustrated with Marley than Jake. That didn’t mean that I wasn’t quietly routing for them. It was obvious that these two were meant for each other. I understood both of them a lot better when some of their past was revealed and Jake finally opened up. I just wish that it didn’t take risking both their lives to get to that point. But then… what fun would that be?

DragonFlyRating4

Leave a comment