Bout-of-Books 4.0 Progress

This format works for me so I’ll continue to keep track here. (Amanda is so wise and organized.) I’ve got 10 12 13 books on my list, but I know I won’t get to them all. I’ll check them off as I finish them and let you know here how far I am in each one. I’ll see how the page count thing goes. A couple of my books are only in ebook format and I’m not sure how many pages they will end up being. Sometimes Goodreads converts them and sometimes it doesn’t. Not a biggie. All of the books are full length novels and a couple of them are pretty long – I just like to keep track for my curiosity. The length of the books we read isn’t a requirement. Should prove to be an interesting week. I’ve kept ‘In Six Words’ too. It’s fun to see if I can actually come up with one that makes sense, especially by the end of the week. ;)  Good luck everyone and have fun!

5/14
Number of books & pages I’ve read today: Phantom King (81% – 159 Pages) and Shine (96 Pages) – 255 Pages Monday
Total number of books & pages I’ve read: 255 Pages
Today #insixwords: Twitter was an interesting place today ;)
Books: Started Phantom King and Shine

5/15
Number of books & pages I’ve read today: Finished Phantom King (35 Pages), Continued Shine (256 Pages) and started Mating Call (25% – 44 Pages) – 335 Pages Tuesday
Total number of books & pages I’ve read: Finished 1 Book – 590 Pages Total
Today #insixwords: Shine was amazing – just as expected!
Books: Finished Phantom King, Continued Shine and Started Mating Call

5/16
Number of books & pages I’ve read today: Finished Shine (47 Pages) and Mating Call (132 Pages) Started Dead Girls’ Dance (47 Pages) and Fairystruck (16 Pages) – 242 Pages Today
Total number of books & pages I’ve read: Finished 3 Books – 832 Pages Total
Today #insixwords: I may just get past five! ;)
Books: Finished Phantom King, Shine and Mating Call, Started Dead Girls’ Dance and Fairystruck

5/17
Number of books & pages I’ve read today: Almost finished Dead Girls’ Dance (138 Pages) before midnight! – 138 Pages Today
Total number of books & pages I’ve read: Finished 3 Books – 970 Pages Total
Today #insixwords: My Wednesday slump switched to Thursday :(
Books: Finished Phantom King, Shine and Mating Call, continued reading Dead Girls’ Dance (I haven’t abandoned Fairy Struck, just didn’t get to it today.)

In a totally different turn of events, I started a book that wasn’t on my list. I know, as if 12 books on my list wasn’t enough. *sigh* But here’s the thing, I have this bad habit of scrolling through my Kindle at night looking for a quick read. I opened one at random that looked interesting. By the time I realized it wasn’t a novella, but a full length novel, it was too late. I was hooked. Now I just have to see what happens. That’s what I love about Bout-of-Books. There are no hard and fast rules. No one cares what you read or how you read it as long as you read and most importantly have fun doing it. ;)

5/18
Number of books & pages I’ve read today: Finished Dead Girls’ Dance (85 Pages) and Intentions of the Earl (270 Pages) – 355 Pages Today
Total number of books & pages I’ve read: Finished 5 Books – 1325 Pages Total
Today #insixwords: BoB 4 Challenges Have Been Creative!
Books: Finished Phantom King, Shine, Mating Call, Dead Girls’ Dance and Intentions of the Earl

5/19
Number of books & pages I’ve read today: Continued Fairystruck (87 Pages) and Started Magic Bites (28 Pages) – 115 Pages Today
Total number of books & pages I’ve read: Finished 5 Books – 1440 Pages Total
Today #insixwords: My Saturday Reading Progress Wasn’t Impressive :(
Books: Finished Phantom King, Shine, Mating Call, Dead Girls’ Dance and Intentions of the Earl, Continued Fairystruck and Started Magic Bites

Well, the question is, should I come up with an excuse? LOL! Truth is, I did do a lot of Bout-of-Books stuff today that didn’t include reading. I have kept up with my ‘deal’ to myself to write reviews as I read. So far I have 4 Bout-of-Books reviews posted. I spent some quality ‘chat’ time with members of the Bout-of-Books team. Amanda and Kelly do the majority of the work involved to keep Bout-of-Books running smoothly – as I’m sure you all know, none of this just happens magically. Even with them taking on the bulk of the responsibility, all four of us have our jobs to do and a lot goes on ‘behind the scenes.’ I’ve also been trying to join in on the Challenge fun! I can’t believe how creative some of these challenges have been, not to mention how creative the participants have been in coming up with their entries. Beyond the Bout-of-Books stuff, I’ve had people who actually wanted me to do some work for them. *gasp* I love being self-employed, but that also gives people the impression that they can contact me on a Friday evening in a panic for a job that they need designed for them by Monday! Happens All. The. Time! Anyway, all of this combined kept me from reading as much as I wanted to yesterday. *sigh* One more day left readers! I’ve noticed during my blog hops that a lot of you have reached and some have even surpassed your goals. Go you! With any amount of luck, I’ll be among you! Happy reading!

5/20
Number of books & pages I’ve read today:
Total number of books & pages I’ve read:
Today #insixwords:
Books:

By creativedeeds

48 comments on “Bout-of-Books 4.0 Progress

    • LOL! Don’t think I’ll come close to the 12, but I’m well on my way to finishing my 2nd book and I got my first review posted today so it’s all good ;) Bout-of-Books is always a blast.

  1. You’re making great progress but I don’t know how you can read two books at once. I don’t feel as involved in the stories when I take breaks from one to read another.

    • The only way that I can do it is to read two totally different genres at once. If I get totally wrapped up in the characters in any given book…. like when I was reading Shine last night… I won’t pick up anything else until I’m done. Another reason I do two at once a lot of the time is because I usually read a physical book during the day and then pull out my Kindle at night. ;)

    • Thanks! I have fun playing with the designs and trying to give it my own ‘personal touch.’ Thanks for stopping by and the vote of confidence. I’ll be hopping around this afternoon. ;)

    • Yeah, I’m kinda determined this time around. Little sleep and lots of coffee! LOL! I’m so glad you are loving Dearly, Departed. It was my first ‘official’ zombie read and it was a perfect one to start with. Have fun! ;)

  2. Oh my gosh, are you eating pages or what? 930/870!! What’s the book that made you stray from your list and got you hooked? Same thing happened to me. I couldn’t get into any of my reads, so I started Divrgent. :D

    • Thanks! There are a couple of people who have read a lot more pages than me though. The book I picked up was Intentions of the Earl. It was a Amazon freebie that I really didn’t intend to read. I’m almost 25% through and it’s cute and witty so far. Sometimes you just gotta read those ;) I need to pick up Divergent too. So many people have said how good it is. Enjoy and Happy Friday!

      • I’m going Ok with Divergent, a bit slow for my taste though. And sorry I got those page numbers wrong, was too mind-boggled to remember. Will go check out is if it’s still a freebie. Thanks. :)

    • Thanks! I have some work to do that I can hopefully get done this morning. Have to finish Fairystruck and toss a coin to see which book to read next. Have a great weekend!

  3. Hello there, thanks for stopping by my blog! I see you’ve been reading a lot more than I have, that’s impressive… I love Rachel Caine’s books, it’s nice to see other people reading her. Have a good weekend and happy reading!

    • Determination is an amazing thing. I have participated in Bout-of-Books from the beginning and I have never, never, ever gone past 5 books. *sigh* This one may actually break my slump! Thanks for stopping by ;)

  4. Ah I know all about real life but you finished 5 books apart from all the blog visiting, tweeting and work, of course. :) I couldn’t even manage half of my goal. Lofty goals and with my parents trying to wean me from my new-found Kindle, I just couldn’t do it. :(

Leave a Reply

