Darkest Whisper by Gena Showalter

He is the keeper of Doubt and his entire world’s about to be rocked.

Bound by the demon of doubt, Sabin unintentionally destroys even the most confident of lovers. So the immortal warrior spends his time on the battlefield instead of the bedroom, victory his only concern…until he meets Gwendolyn the Timid. One taste of the beautiful redhead, and he craves more.

Gwen, an immortal herself, always thought she’d fall for a kind human who wouldn’t rouse her darker side. But when Sabin frees her from prison, battling their enemies for the claim to Pandora’s box turns out to be nothing compared to the battle Sabin and Gwen will wage against love…

Sabin isn’t a character in the Lords of the Underworld Series that I had really noticed before. Reading Darkest Whisper made me wonder why!

This is another series that took me a while to start. It only took reading the first Lords of the Underworld book to convince me that I needed to add all these books to my shelf, which incidentally, I have. ;)

Sabin is the keeper of Doubt, which on the surface doesn’t seem to be as bad as most of the demons, until you stop and think about it. His demon could make the most confident person lose all self confidence in a matter of minutes. It turned out to be quite an effective tool on the battle ground, not so much when you are trying not to hurt someone you love. Gwen was an immortal with little or no self confidence to start with. Pairing her with Doubt should have destroyed her. Did I mention how amazing these books are?

Darkest Whisper took these two characters to the brink and back again, which is exactly what Showalter is best at. I’m not sure what draws me into these books more. The love that the characters have for their destined mates or the love and devotion that the Lords have for each other. Both are amazing and heart breaking.

As with the rest of the books in the series, you get a glimpse of the other Lords. Just enough that you can’t wait to pick up the next book. There are some that you know are coming soon and some loyal readers are being tortured with. That’s okay though, I’m trusting Showalter to make it worth the wait for some of these Lords to get their HEA.

Darkest Passion is the next book in the series and I have to admit that as of the time I’m writing this review, I’ve already finished it. I’m not sure I can pick a favorite Lord or a favorite book, but not one has disappointed me so far. :)