Kiss Me, I’m Irish Read-A-Long (Week 3)

Well, forget the pacing. Once I reached a certain point in Hounded I couldn’t stop. Now I can just sit back, relax and join in on the fun with no pressure. *sigh*

Discussion Schedule:
March 02nd: Chapters 1-5 hosted by Geeky Blogger’s Book Blog
March 09th: Chapters 6-10 hosted by On a Book Bender
March 16th: Chapters 11-15 hosted by Smash Attack Reads!
March 23rd: Chapters 16-20 hosted by In the Closet With a Bibliophile
March 30th: Chapters 21-25 + epilogue hosted by The Unread Reader

April 06th: Special interview with Kevin Hearne & announcement of winners!

This week’s questions were supplied by Ashley at Smash Attack Reads! and she came up with some good ones.

Questions Week 3 (March 16th): Chapters 11 to 15

1. I love Leif Helgarson, Viking Vampire, Esq. I have to say that combo makes a pretty cool attorney. If you could have a paranormal/mythical beastie (or combo) covering your tuckus in court, what would you choose and why?

I’m not sure. Both of Atticus’ attorneys had their strong points. I’d say any type of paranormal attorney would give you an edge. Any paranormal that had the ability to read minds or sense when someone is lying would give you a distinct advantage. That is, assuming you are innocent. ;)

2. The police show up to question Atticus about his Irish Wolfhound, Oberon. If you could own any dog breed, what would it be and why? (P.S. Oberon is going on my list of favorite sidekicks!)

I’m kind of partial to labs. The last couple of dogs that we have had have all been labs and none of them have been pure bred. Our current dog, Clipper is a yellow lab mix. I don’t have many pictures of him because he doesn’t EVER stand still. My kids want to put a cape on his back because he refuses to walk down the steps off the porch, instead he leaps. Dogs are so funny.

3. Malina Sokolowski and the other Sisters of the Three Auroras coven have my antennae up. What is your opinion of them? 

Well, duh! Their sneakiness alone got me being leery of them from the beginning. They definitely are up to no good.

4. Brighid, goddess of poetry, fire and the forge, gave Atticus the power of Cold Iron, which can be used to fight off that nasty lilttle hellspawn. If you could wield one magical power, what would it be and why?

I think I would want something passive. I don’t think I trust myself to have any power that would unintentionally do someone harm. That kind of power would be too big of a responsibility. Mind reading or truth sense would be cool, but I’d want to be able to turn that one on and off too. Hmm….

5. The cops show up at Atticus’ shop to search for poor Oberon, who remains magically hidden throughout the ordeal. What is the one thing you would do if you could remain hidden from sight? I want to hear some good answers for this one!

I’m not sure what I’d do. It might have to be a case by case scenario. I can’t think of any specific time, but I’m sure that there once was a time and a place that eavesdropping or spying would have come in quite handy.

By creativedeeds

Breaking Bad by Jodi Redford

No super deed goes unpunished…

A Midnight Justice story.

It’s been twenty-five years since the last Light Guardian was wiped out. Or so it’s believed. Ruby Winston is about to blow the lid off that theory, even though it’ll bring every Shadow Czar minion down on her ass.

She’s always known she was different from the rest of the evil-dictators-in-training Winstons. Uncovering the secret half of her gene pool proves it. Now she’s out to bring down her late father’s mind-control soda empire—and break the Shadow Czars’ hold on Earth.

Problem is, becoming a superhero overnight isn’t as easy as it looks.

Teague Younger has his own secrets to keep: his heritage, and his fierce determination to exact revenge on his friend and mentor’s murderer. So far he’s kept his cover—until he’s forced to use his Light Guardian powers to save Ruby from a sticky situation.

Thrust together and on the run, Teague and Ruby form a wary alliance as they desperately fight their circuit-blowing attraction. With an army of Shadow Queen minions hot on their tails, they might have a hard time surviving the night, much less ignoring their hearts.

Product Warnings
This book contains mind-controlling beverages, evil dictators and minions, excessive use of spandex, and enough electrifying sex to melt an ice train.

Well, Jodi has done it again. I’m honestly not a sci-fi, alien, super-hero kind of reader. Of course, I label myself as an eclectic reader, which I am. There are just some genres I don’t go searching for and this is one of them. Jodi, however, can make any genre interesting, and before you jump to conclusions, no – it isn’t just because of the *ahem* hot and steamy scenes. (Not that they aren’t…. never mind…) The connection that the characters have pulls you into Jodi’s books.

Teague was a loner and wanted to keep it that way. His only goal was to exact revenge and he was driven by guilt. Ruby was coming to terms with power she didn’t even know she had and needed help. They fought their attraction until it became combustible – pretty much literally. That in itself would have been enough of a story, but of course, Jodi had more.

Teague’s connection to his band of misfit friends helped readers connect with him in a way they wouldn’t have been able to if they wouldn’t have been included. Then Ruby’s connection with them brought all their relationships full circle. It was an unlikely group of friends, but the more you got to know them, the more the chemistry worked and made sense. It also added to the fun of the book – and brought out the alpha in Teague. *sigh*

Breaking Bad also had plenty of evil and action. It literally started off with a bang and never really slowed down. The evil characters were really easy to hate and the action scenes were powerful. In short, this book had a little bit of everything. I’m still not going to jump on the sci-fi, alien, super-hero band wagon, but Breaking Bad did convince me (once again) that I will continue to read whatever Jodi Redford comes up with next.