Deja Vu Reviews

About a month or so ago I realized that I have a LOT of read books that I never reviewed. You see, I’ve been a reader forever, but a book blogger for less than a year. It occurred to me that if anyone is paying attention, they might notice that there are quite a few books that I have rated on Goodreads that I never actually reviewed. This is an attempt to remedy that. I’m not saying that I am going to go back and review all the books that I have only rated, that would be crazy…. not that I’m not a little crazy at times, but that would fall under an entirely different post. ;)

Anyway, I recently started re-reading a series that I really like, but realized that I had only reviewed one book out of the four. I just finished the first book in my re-read and decided that I needed to designate these random reviews in some way. Hence, the cool new graphic. Beginning this weekend, whenever I post a review of a book that I have previously read but neglected to review, I’m going to try to remember to throw this graphic at the end and post it in the title. I figured it would cut down on the confusion.

This kind of brings me full circle too because the first adult paranormal review that I posted on my blog was Heather Killough-Walden’s The Hunt. After reading the first book in her new series, The Vampire King, I decided I needed to re-read the Big Bad Wolf Series. When I started reading The Heat, I realized that I had never actually reviewed it. Most of these deja vu books are going to come from series, but there will probably be a few stand alone books thrown in. Did I mention I LOVE to re-read my favorites? I thought so, just wanted to be sure I made that clear.

By creativedeeds

The Darkest Kiss by Gena Showalter

She has tempted many men…but never found her equal. Until now.

Though she has lived for centuries, Anya, goddess of anarchy, has never known pleasure. Until Lucien, the incarnation of death–a warrior eternally doomed to take souls to the hereafter. He draws her like no other. And Anya will risk anything to have him.

But when the merciless Lord of the Underworld is ordered by the gods to claim Anya herself, their uncontrollable attraction becomes an anguished pursuit. Now they must defeat the unconquerable forces that control them, before their thirst for one another demands a sacrifice of love beyond imagining..

Have I mentioned that I love my Book Bully blogging buddies? If not for them, I would be missing out on so many great books. I’m not really sure what kept me from reading these books for so long. I finally caved and read The Darkest Night in January and then I moved on to something else before getting the next books. Thank goodness for Kelly and Isalys gently pointing out the error of my ways. Once I started reading Lucien and Anya’s story I couldn’t stop.

I didn’t pay much attention to Lucien in The Darkest Night to be honest. I’m not exactly sure why other than the fact that there were a lot of introductions in the first book and there was also an awful lot going on. For the same reason, Anya didn’t stick out in my mind either. By the end of the first book she had proven herself, but she still wasn’t a character that anyone was sure they should trust, including the reader. One chapter into The Darkest Kiss and all that changes. Once I finished this book they became one of my favorite couples. They were both so damaged and tortured they needed each other – but they fought it. Boy did they fight it. They fought it so much it was painful. *sigh*

Sacrifice is evidently a big element in this series which makes the love stories all the more tragic. Not only are the Lords cursed with the demons that possess them but it seems that they, along with those they love have to give up literally everything. Their love and devotion to each other is so strong that they willingly give up all to save the other. You know it’s coming, you know it’s going to tear them and you apart, but you keep reading. Even though you know in the back of your mind that eventually it will all work out, there is always that chance that the tables could turn. Those breath holding moments are what keep you reading and wanting more. When it comes to paranormal romance I’ve learned to assume nothing. Authors can be evil and I’m afraid that Gena Showalter will prove to be no exception to that rule.  Needless to say, I now have at least the next 4 books in my possession. ;)

Between all the torturous denial that Lucien and Anya were busy putting themselves through, we got glimpses into what was going on with the other Lords. Readers got a taste of Paris, Reyes, Maddox and Aeron in The Darkest Kiss. The story line really made me want Paris’ book, but I’ll have to wait because Reyes is up next. The end of this one left quite a few of the Lords floundering, which of course means I will not be waiting long to pick up The Darkest Pleasure. See, authors are evil!