Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready – Bout-of-Books October Review

Aura’s life is anything but easy. Her boyfriend, Logan, died, and his slides between ghost and shade have left her reeling. Aura knows he needs her now more than ever. She loves Logan, but she can’t deny her connection with the totally supportive, totally gorgeous Zachary. And she’s not sure that she wants to.

Logan and Zachary will fight to be the one by her side, but Aura needs them both to uncover the mystery of her past—the mystery of the Shift.

As Aura’s search uncovers new truths, she must decide whom to trust with her secrets…and her heart.

I am so in love with this series. I know that I was reading it in the middle of the Bout-of-Books Read-a-thon, but I honestly don’t think I could have put it down regardless. The only regret that I have is that I have to wait several months for the next installment and then once I read that book it will be over. :( I’m not sure how I’m going to feel once Aura, Zach and Logan’s story finally ends. OK, enough lamenting, now on with the review.

Shift takes up where Shade left off. Aura put her emotional life on hold until she could make sure that Logan was safe and where he needed to be. I know some people had trouble with Aura’s lack of commitment but I honestly don’t know how I would handle myself if I was in Aura’s situation. It was an impossible situation and to me it was amazing that she handled it as well as she did.

Aura wasn’t the only person in turmoil in Shift. Of course Logan was still emotionally attached to Aura, his family was still suffering from their loss and Zachary had some devastating news that he had to deal with on top of everything he was going through with Aura. It was literally an emotional roller coaster for everyone. I was warned, and since I shed a few tears in Shade, I wasn’t surprised when I got teary as I read Shift.

As a rule, I don’t pick ‘teams’ when I read books with love triangles. I try to trust the author to get the characters to where they need to be. I have admit though that I have been rooting for Zach since I read Shade. I haven’t changed my mind. I still think that Aura and Zach belong together, but I will admit that Logan did gain a few points in my opinion of him in this book. He was still impulsive and he had a few “shady,’ jealous, angry moments, but he grew a lot more than I expected him to. It was a nice surprise.

Questions were answered in Shift that needed to be, but there are still more. Mistakes were made by all the characters – mostly on impulse. What helped get you past those mistakes was that the characters were honest about them and owned up to them. Kind of admirable for teenagers. Regardless of what they are going through and how mature they were forced to become in Shift, I had to keep reminding myself that they are all just teens. They were all thrown into impossible situations that forced them to mature, but they still have a long way to go. I can’t wait to see where the rest of the journey takes them.

I know that I mentioned this before, but the fact that this book takes place so close to where I grew up makes it so much more ‘real’ for me. Even the mention of ‘Old Bay’ gave me a sense of ‘home.’ It didn’t hurt that at one point Zach and Aura even ended up in the same county in Maryland that I grew up in. I still don’t live that far away but there’s just something about reading a book with familiar landmarks and references that draws you in even more.

I’ll wait patiently for Shine, and I’m sure that I will be rereading both Shade and Shift before the last book in this amazing trilogy is released.

2 comments on “Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready – Bout-of-Books October Review

    • Thanks Ashley. I don’t think Logan could change my mind no matter how many points he gains. Zach is just so… well, Zach! I love vampires and shape shifters and always will, but this series is so fresh and different than the other YA themes. I’ve even forgiven Jeri for the tears… almost. Can’t wait until Shine comes out.

Leave a Reply

