Suspense by Jason Letts – Bout-of-Books October Review

Spencer Nye can’t control the rage bubbling under her skin over the world around her. The trouble is, by the year 2102, the world has solved most of its great problems. Without hunger, war, greed, or even money, people obsess over the glamour of the Culture Industry and its mega-celebrity Idols, who vie for followers over the social networks of Connect.
But Spencer discovers there is plenty to fix within the Idols’ competition for more popularity. She becomes a diehard and promises to do anything to help her Idol, a dreamy movie star named Cleary Mintz, bring his vision of hope and purpose to the world. When she stumbles onto a threat against his life, she’ll have to fight harder than she ever thought possible or lose the man who means more to her than any other.

I made a discovery about myself while reading Suspense. I takes me a while to get into dystopian novels. It has nothing to do with the writing or the characters. It just takes me a while to wrap my mind around these unique, futuristic worlds. That being said, once I got into Suspense, I really liked it.

The book centers around Spencer Nye and her friends. The world Letts created for Suspense is perfect at first glance. It doesn’t take long to discover though that nothing is perfect. Spencer lives in a world where everyone is equal and no one wants for anything. As great as it sounds, she seems to be the only one who realizes that there is no reward in having everything handed to you. Hmm… seems that there is a lesson to be learned there somewhere. I’m not saying that Spencer is above reproach and is the perfect hero. She has faults just like everyone else. One of her biggest at times seems to be how little she thinks of herself. Hopefully as the series continues she’ll get over some of that. She wasn’t in a really happy place during most of the book, even when she should have been.

Suspense is a YA novel, but it is definitely geared toward older teens. There is a fair amount of violence along with sexual themes. One scene, well, you’ll know what I’m referring to when you get to it. :)

There were times in Suspense that I had a hard time adjusting to the reality that the characters lived in. I think it was because everything was so centered around technology that it was almost scary. I’ve often heard people now talk about how they couldn’t survive without their computers, cell phones and other gadgets. Think about how hard it would be if you entire existence depended on the technology you were surrounded by. That’s exactly what Letts gives you a taste of and it’s a scary proposition.

The nice thing about starting Suspense now is that Jason Letts’ next installment in the Spencer Nye trilogy is coming out in the next few days. Since Suspense left us in, well, suspense…. it will be nice to be able to grab Expense without much delay. If you haven’t read any of Jason Letts’ other books, you can check out my reviews of Impossible, Incredible and the first three books in his Powerless Series. You can also visit Letts’ Amazon and Amazon UK pages to check out all his books. Enjoy!


4 comments on “Suspense by Jason Letts – Bout-of-Books October Review

  1. I think one of the reasons why I really liked Divergent is that it is set in Chicago (but a broken down and wasted Chicago) so it was still familiar, just different. I don’t know if I can do dystopians where the setting is so vastly different.

    • I haven’t read one that I absolutely didn’t like (my taste is eclectic – I’ll read just about anything.) It just takes me longer to get into them. Once I acclimate myself to the world in the book, I’m fine. Guess I’m weird, I don’t know. I had the same problem with Incarceron and The Hunger Games, but I loved them both. I need to add Divergent to my TBR pile. Bout-of-Books is making that pile rather large BTW. :)

  2. Interesting, I hadn’t heard of these, but I really like the Uglies series, and these sound kind of along those lines in a way. I’ll have to check them out!

    Looks like you’ve been doing great reading so far, you’re way ahead of me! I may not get around to the triangle challenge, but it was a neat one, loved the presentation! :)

    Thanks for the visit, and good luck in your reading!

    • I haven’t read the Uglies either, but my daughter has the first one so I will probably read it eventually. I raid her shelves a lot ;)

      I slowed down a little yesterday. Stayed up WAY too late finishing Shift, but it was so good I couldn’t stop.

      I had fun putting the challenge together. Glad you liked it.

      Good luck with your reading too :)

Leave a Reply

