Teaser Tuesday 10-18-11

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I think that it’s been established that I don’t follow the rules very well when it comes to Teaser Tuesday. Why would this week be an exception? I will stick to the ‘current read,’ the page will probably not be random because I want to pick a good one. Everyone knows I can’t stick to the ’2 teaser sentences,’ so it’s not even worth mention that one. The only thing you can be sure of is that I won’t give any spoilers and… well, that’s about it. Since I’m reading 2 books this week, I decided to treat everyone to teasers from both of them.

The first is a reread and one that I have pulled a teaser from before. However, it’s Clockwork Angel, so I doubt anyone will mind too much. (Really, if you haven’t read this book you need to and I’m just doing my part to make sure everyone does.) Plus, Mundie Moms is having a read-a-long this month in celebration of the Clockwork Prince release in December. We’ll just consider this part of the celebration.

My other current read this week is Changeless and I’m adding that teaser because the book is just so much fun to read. You never know what is going to happen when Alexia is involved. So there you have my reasoning – and here are the teasers. Enjoy! ;)

Clockwork Angel, Cassandra Clare

Page 87

Tessa was so startled that he remembered what she had said, that it took several seconds to respond. “But the books are all behind bars!” she said. “Like a literary sort of prison!”

Will grinned. “Some of these books are dangerous,” he said. “It’s wise to be careful.”

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

“I’m not sure a book has ever changed me,” said Will. “Well, there is one volume that promises to teach one how to turn oneself into an entire flock of sheep–”

(The line from Tessa is quoted a lot because it is such a thoughtful quote and so true from a book lover’s standpoint. Will’s following comment kind of takes away from the seriousness of Tessa’s statement, but then, that’s Will – which is why we love him so!)

Changeless by Gail Carriger

Page 70

Alexia looked up from her cup of tea. “I know many things.”

Major Channing’s pretty mouth twisted at that.

Professor Lyall said, “His lordship did say something about dealing with an embarrassing family emergency.”

“Am I not family?” wondered Lady Maccon.

To which Lyall muttered under his breath, “And often embarrassing.”

“Careful there, Professor. Only one person is allowed to say insulting things about me to my face, and you are certainly not large enough to be he.”

By creativedeeds