Teaser Tuesday 9-27-11

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Well I haven’t done this for a while. This week’s Teaser Tuesday is actually from my current read. See, I really can follow the rules (sometimes.) My Teaser this week comes from Michelle Muto’s Don’t Fear the Reaper. Before I get to the teaser, let me just say that I knew that I would like this book, I just had no idea how MUCH I would like this book. I loved Michelle’s first book, The Book of Lost Souls, so I was already familiar with her style of writing. Both books are YA, but their similarities end there. Don’t Fear the Reaper is a lot darker and geared toward older teens, but Michelle’s vivid imagery and her ability to bring out the passionate emotion in her characters still shines through. OK, enough with the gushing – I’ll save the rest for my review. :)

Don’t Fear the Reaper by Michelle Muto

First Chapter

There was no fear in me as the man bent forward, his face was inches from mine. He was my father’s age, and yet strangely older. His eyes were so… blue, almost iridescent. The irises were rimmed in a fine line of black, and the creases etched at the corners reminded me of sunbeams as he gave me a weak smile. The oddly dressed paramedic. A warm hand reached into the water and cradled mine. My fingers clutched his. I sighed, feeling myself floating, drifting. Light – high and intense exploded before me. No! Too much. Too much! I shuddered and labored to catch my breath, but it wouldn’t come.

This passage is near the end of the first chapter. Here’s the book description from goodreads:

Grief-stricken by the murder of her twin, Keely Morrison is convinced suicide is her ticket to eternal peace and a chance to reunite with her sister. When Keely succeeds in taking her own life, she discovers death isn’t at all what she expected. Instead, she’s trapped in a netherworld on Earth and her only hope for reconnecting with her sister and navigating the afterlife is a bounty-hunting reaper and a sardonic, possibly unscrupulous, demon. But when the demon offers Keely her greatest temptation—revenge on her sister’s murderer—she must uncover his motives and determine who she can trust. Because, as Keely soon learns, both reaper and demon are keeping secrets and she fears the worst is true—that her every decision will change how, and with whom, she spends eternity.

Check out my reviews of both Don’t Fear the Reaper and The Book of Lost Souls on my Current Reviews page. You should add both books to your TBR shelves. :)

By creativedeeds

6 comments on “Teaser Tuesday 9-27-11

  1. ooh love the excerpt! Makes me def want to read more. I can visualize that scene and I just found I have 2 e-readers on my new pc so I’m going to get ‘Book of Lost Souls’ first. Can’t wait. Great stuff Michelle!

Leave a Reply

