Teaser Tuesday (8-16-11)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

Okay, I’m cheating again, but only in the sense that this teaser isn’t from a current read. The teaser that I’m featuring today is from Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Angel. Why did I pick this one? Well, even though I’ve gotten a few TBR books on hand, I’m stuck in reread mode, which isn’t even this book (my current reread is from a book I already featured – I know, the fact that I have a serious addiction has already been established.) I know that there are some of you out there who don’t understand how anyone could read a book that they have already read. There are those of you who would never pick up a book more than once. I’m obviously not one of those people. I enjoy rereading a book almost as much as I enjoyed it the first time, sometimes more. No matter how long ago the first reading took place, I always find a new aspect or little hidden morsel that the author hinted to me the first time that I totally missed. Plus there are some characters and worlds that I just can’t get enough of and revisiting them is a familiar and wonderful escape.This teaser is near the beginning of the book. It’s during the first meeting between Will and Tessa.

Clockwork AngelThe Infernal Devices 1 – Cassandra Clare – pg. 40

The moment his hand closed about the stone, light blazed up from it again, raying out through his fingers. For the first time Tessa saw that he had a design on the back of his hand, drawn there as if in black ink. It looked like an open eye. “As for the temperature of Hell, Miss Grey,” he said, “let me give you a piece of advice. The handsome young fellow who’s trying to rescue you from a hideous fate is never wrong. Not even if he says the sky is purple and made of hedgehogs.

Gotta love Will’s modesty. :) As for rereading this one, I already have once. The second book in the Infernal Devices Trilogy, Clockwork Prince, will be released on December 6. Mundie Moms (a Cassaandra Clare/YA Book fan site) will be hosting a Clockwork Angel Read Along. I’m trying to hold out until then – wish me luck!

 

 

 

By creativedeeds

14 comments on “Teaser Tuesday (8-16-11)

    • This was the first book of Cassie’s that I read and it is still my favorite. I loved the Mortal Instruments too, but Will, Tessa & Jem will always be my first loves. :) I did the same thing you did BTW. Once I finished this one, I just had to get more. I wasn’t disappointed and I’m sure you won’t be either. I reread this one the first time right before (and partially during) City of Fallen Angels. It was just as good the second time around.

    • Thanks for stopping by Laurel. I obviously love to reread my favorites. I also like to reread books in a series before a new one comes out, especially if it’s been a while. That’s one of the reasons why I like to buy books instead of borrowing them. I like to have them on hand in case I get the urge to visit them again.

    • Thanks for stopping by Cat. If you liked the Mortal Instruments series, you’ll like The Infernal Devices too. Plus, you’ll get some background into some of the characters from the Mortal Instruments because they show up first in Clockwork Angel. It’s a different world, but they intertwine together beautifully. Enjoy!

    • That’s just the beginning of Will’s wit and personality. Of course there’s much more to him than that & hopefully we’ll find out more in Clockwork Prince. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Thanks for stopping by Christina. It was really hard to find a teaser in this one. I didn’t want to give too much away, and Will, Tessa & Jem have so many quotable moments it was hard to choose. Glad you liked it. As far as the rereads go, I think the first time I read a book I am so wrapped up in what is going to happen that I miss the little nuances that a hidden. When I go back and read the book again, I catch a little more each time. The perspective thing is true too, especially if you’re reading a book that you haven’t read for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

