Book Blogger Hop

Book Blogger HopThis week’s Book Blogger Hop question is

What keeps you reading beyond the first few pages of a book, and what makes you want to stop reading a book and put it back on the shelf?

I guess I’m more patient than the average reader. I’m pretty willing to give a book a chance even if I have a hard time getting into it after the first chapter. I suppose that I am fortunate for this patience, because there are several books that I can think of that started slow but worked themselves up to some of the best stories I have ever read. I’m extremely glad that I gave these books a chance. One of the things that bothers me most about the story that I am currently writing is that I know it doesn’t have a strong start. I’m pretty sure that the story is worth continuing, but I need to find a way to grab the reader. I realize that just because I have the patience to allow an author to take their time to reel me in, doesn’t mean that anyone else has the same kind of patience.

By creativedeeds